top of page

V3 Buoys Deployed!


Both V3 drifting buoys have been deployed! First was deployed Thurs 6 July in Gulf of Mexico 60 NM SW of Panama City, FL. Second was deployed Sat 8 July in Pacific 13 NM north of Molokai in the Hawaiian Islands. We're still waiting for deployment videos, so check the main page in a few weeks to see how each was deployed. Special thanks go to Capt Sean at PC Florida Fishing Charters in Panama City, FL and Captain Johnny at Start Me Up Sportfishing in Lahaina, Maui for their help deploying these buoys. Additional thanks go to my local "fixers": Peter in Panama City and Troy in Maui, Adrian Studer the amazing inventor of the dAISy AIS receiver, Matt Sargent who helped me understand Arduino Serial communications, Barry who always pushed me to do more, and Brian who wrote the website code and finds the time and motivation to complete any task I've proposed. Lastly the biggest thanks to my family who've allowed me the time to pursue this project, and put up with countless "buoy conversations" around the dinner table.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page